top of page
  • Morgan Wagner

East High School as we knew it is no longer the same. From wearing masks to socially-distanced lunchroom setups, East is different in plenty of ways. One of those changes includes the addition of several new teachers to the school. Mr. Rupert is one of the additions, fresh out of college and has passion for science. Here’s an inside look at East’s youngest educator!


Where did you go to college and what did you major in?

I went to Albright College, which is in Reading, Pennsylvania, and I majored in physics as well as doing the Secondary Education program.


What was your favorite class in college?

My favorite class in college was Calculus 1. I just really enjoyed math and the background of physics.


What made you want to go into teaching?

Ever since I was in kindergarten it was always something I wanted to do. I had my mind set on elementary education initially, but when I took physics in high school I shifted my focus to physics education. It's always been an interest of mine.


Why did you choose to become a physics teacher?

I think part of it was my physics teacher, herself. She was a really great teacher and she encouraged me to enter the physics field as well. Physics also just really clicked with me.


How has the pandemic affected your experience in pursuing a teaching career?

I student taught during the pandemic in the fall of 2020, so the school that I was at was a hybrid model, so I only saw the students in person like 2 times a week, and some I didn’t see at all. That was definitely a hardship, but I think it was a good experience to have that before I came here, where I see people everyday. I definitely like seeing everyone everyday, it’s definitely been more consistent, but that was definitely difficult. My last semester of college was when we all got sent home, so the last part of my college career was all virtual learning.


What are the qualities of a good teacher?

I think it’s someone who knows what they’re doing and they’re also personable with their students, like they’re able to develop a connection with students. (A good teacher) makes kids excited to learn and feel comfortable in the classroom.


What were you most excited for going into your first year of teaching?

Developing connections with students and being able to see them grow over time. That’s something else you don’t get to experience because student teaching is only for three months and then you leave. Now I get a full year with students to help them grow.


If you had to choose a different career path, what would it be?

That’s a good question. I’d love to work for Disneyworld. I think that would be really fun. If I had to pick like any career, it would be to work as an Imagineer or something.


What advice do you have for your students?

Think about the picture. Definitely plan for the future but also enjoy the present. Think about your major goals in life.


Who is your favorite musician and why?

My favorite musician is Taylor Swift. Her music just really spoke to me when I needed it to speak to me, and ever since then, she’s been my workout partner. I listen to her when I workout, I listen to her in the car.


Who is your role model?

My role model is probably my mom. She’s very hardworking and she doesn’t complain about having to work hard. She gets up at like 2:30 in the morning everyday to go to work; she owns her own business. She doesn’t give up.


Describe your perfect day.

My perfect day… I would probably get up reasonably early; I feel like I’m way more productive and happy when I get up early. Going to the gym, and probably watching a TV-show, hanging out with friends, and maybe going somewhere for dinner.


What was your first impression of East?

How personable everyone was. Getting to meet the science department, they were super nice. My mentor, Mr. Densmore has been great. And the students have been really nice and welcoming to me as a new teacher. It’s nice that this is the first year back for all of them, so it’s like being new with them.


What advice do you have for your students?

Think about the picture. Definitely plan for the future but also enjoy the present. Think about your major goals in life.


Welcome to East High School, Mr. Rupert!


Recent Posts

See All

The Family Behind The Addams Family

It’s that time of year again, the time of year when singing and dancing can be heard bouncing through the auditorium doors. This joyous soun

A Love Story: Flynzo’s Version

East High School is the perfect setting for the relationship of your dreams. From leaky ceilings to daily fire alarms, what more could a bud

Comments


bottom of page