top of page
  • Erin Flynn

1. What are you excited about in terms of taking over Video Productions?

After 21 years teaching English here at East and 22 overall, I was looking for an additional opportunity and challenge. Moreover, I have always been attracted to teaching an elective class knowing that the interest level of the students will be extremely high. Now that I am no longer the head wrestling coach at East, I felt this was the year I would have the time to tackle this brand-new endeavor for me. Additionally, I have applied to be an adjunct professor through the University of Pittsburgh to teach a new broadcasting class here that will earn students three college credits.


2. What are you hoping to bring to the course as the named instructor for 24-25?

I would like to use the video production class to help promote school life and culture here at East. Using various forms of media will allow us to create promotions, highlights, and information for what our amazing kids do here at school on a daily basis. I would love to get TV’s installed throughout the school that continuously loop our productions for the entire school to see. Plus, students are going to have a ton of freedom to create whatever they want. The ball is in the student’s court to express their own creativity.


3. What type of student might be interested in signing up for the VP elective?

My first goal is to retain our current students in our VP program. Then, my goal is to pique student interest and get people to choose these electives. I think it will attract a student very comfortable and innovative with technology, but in the Tik-Tok era, almost every single student possesses these skills. The beauty of an elective like this is I will put no “seatbelts” on my students. If they come up with an idea, they will have full permission to run with it.

4. What made you want to take this on as a teaching endeavor, halfway through your career?

Um, two-thirds of the way finished with my career! To be honest, I would love to see the video production courses help us to sell and advertise the awesome accomplishments of our students. The more we can produce to highlight our kids, the more student involvement we will have. That’s the goal.


5. Any statement you’d like to make to the student body surrounding this new adventure?

Yes, there is going to be a complete learning curve for students, but especially for myself. I have so much new technology to learn and an entire new curriculum with the broadcast class run through Pitt. However, if you know me, you know I will attack this with incredible excitement, create a welcoming environment in my workspace, and use these classes to continue to make all in the East community proud of what we do.


Recent Posts

See All

Teacher Profiles: Mrs. Genders

How has teaching virtually been so far? What have been some challenges? How did you overcome them? Teaching virtually has been quite...

Teacher Profiles: Mr. Niedziejko

How has teaching virtually been so far? What have been some challenges? How did you overcome them? I was ok with remote learning. I think...

Teacher Profile: Mr. Rupert

East High School as we knew it is no longer the same. From wearing masks to socially-distanced lunchroom setups, East is different in...

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page