top of page
  • Alison Alexis

A special thanks to AP Euro teacher Mr. Farrell for sitting down with the Norse Code to answer a few questions!


How has teaching virtually been so far? What have been some challenges? How did you overcome them?

The biggest challenge in teaching is always time-not enough time to prepare, not enough time to assess, not enough time with students, too much time on paperwork and other minutiae, and teaching virtually has magnified these problems. I am trying to focus on what is absolutely essential for my students in each course.

What do you miss most about the normal school year?

By far, interactions and conversations with students and colleagues. Learning is a collaborative process and that can’t be easily recreated virtually. There are many unsung, talented people doing incredible work at East High School-Mr. Costin, Mr. Garvin, Mrs. Matjasic, Mrs. Pribish, the art department to name a few that I am very privileged to work with.

What can/do students do that make the virtual experience better for you?

The same thing I would say for in-person learning-be willing to take intellectual risks. Don’t be afraid to be wrong, and don’t be afraid to be wrong while talking on Zoom!

What’s your favorite part about teaching?

Working with people from all different backgrounds and walks of life to try and enrich their lives, present, and future. It’s a powerful purpose and I can’t think of anything I’d rather do.

When did you know you wanted to become a teacher?

I started to first think seriously about it in high school. I came to the idea arrogantly-I thought I knew it all. The older I get, I increasingly realize how little I know, but they let me teach anyway.

What’s your teaching philosophy?

Put simply, my teaching philosophy is to pose interesting problems to students and challenge them to develop interesting solutions.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

One thing I think most students don’t know is that I am quite introverted, naturally. Teaching is not a very introverted job, though.

What’s your biggest advice to high school students?

Be and do. Be yourself, and do things that make you happy (within reason). Your life is your own and your most precious resource is the limited time you have. Don’t waste any living the life someone else wants you to live.

What’s your most memorable experience teaching?

I can’t think of just one, because this job has given me the chance to work with so many amazing people-students and adults-in so many different capacities: in the classroom, on the field, in collaborative spaces with colleagues, etc. I’ve learned so much from all of them.

What’s your favorite movie/tv show?

Cinema peaked in the 70s, so I’d go with The Godfather. More recently, I love anything by the Coen Brothers and Paul Thomas Anderson. For TV, The Sopranos, The Wire, and Mad Men.

What’s your favorite food?

I love Italian food.

What’s your favorite book?

Quite obviously Western Civilization by Jackson J. Spielvogel. I highly recommend it to all my students.

What do you do in your spare time?

I enjoy hiking and camping, reading, keeping up with current events, and spending time with my wife and our families.

Cats or dogs?

Dogs, but it’s close.


Recent Posts

See All

The Family Behind The Addams Family

It’s that time of year again, the time of year when singing and dancing can be heard bouncing through the auditorium doors. This joyous soun

A Love Story: Flynzo’s Version

East High School is the perfect setting for the relationship of your dreams. From leaky ceilings to daily fire alarms, what more could a bud

Comments


bottom of page