top of page
  • Alison Alexis

The Norse Code spoke with Colin Barch of ETC about how the pandemic as affected the club this year.


  1. What do you miss most about theater in a “normal” school year?

I miss the usual spirit of theatre. With rehearsals keeping up with current guidelines, there is a clear difference in the atmosphere. There is usually a lot of excitement amongst the cast, but this year we are very focused on staying safe and practicing. I am grateful to perform another show at East, since I didn’t think we’d get the opportunity, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss the energy of the previous years.

  1. What have been some difficulties navigating theater during the pandemic?

Like every other club or sport, theatre has had to adapt to the current situation of the pandemic. With dance rehearsals, it is hard to make sure everyone keeps a minimum of three feet between each other. We also have had to scrap partner dances, for obvious reasons. We also found it difficult to gain interest in theatre and related events without clarity on if any shows would happen, which was really unmotivating.

  1. I know you’ve started rehearsing the musical in the spring this year! How has the pandemic affected auditions, rehearsals, etc.?

With a quick audition process and a shortened period to rehearse, we have gotten focused extremely fast. We have less time than the previous year, about an entire month, so everything is moving quickly. A week into rehearsals and our off-book date for the first act is in 8 days, which is insane to think about.

  1. You’re also planning to do One Acts this year! I know not much has been figured out/planned, but how does it feel to possibly be showing those this year?

It’s really exciting to have the possibility of another show! The theatre officers have been working out details and are pretty certain we will be having a One Acts festival. The One Acts are definitely what really got me into ETC. Since they are student-written and directed, there is much less stress and everyone has so much fun. It’s truly so different from the musical, and it’s the show I would recommend to anyone interested in getting into theatre.

  1. What are your hopes for ETC in the future?

I hope by next year ETC will get to perform on stage, something that seems so foreign right now. Since there are a lot of seniors this year, I also hope new members will try out theatre next year. That being said though, there were a lot of new incoming members with so much talent. I am excited to see what they do in the future of ETC.

  1. What are some of your favorite memories with ETC? What will you miss most about it?

My favorite memory of ETC is performing in last year’s musical. Curtains was such a fun show, and one of my favorite roles I’ve ever played. I will definitely miss the family bond on ETC, something most seniors would say. I’ve done theatre with some of these people for four years, and I’m looking forward to seeing what they all do after high school.

Recent Posts

See All

The Family Behind The Addams Family

It’s that time of year again, the time of year when singing and dancing can be heard bouncing through the auditorium doors. This joyous soun

A Love Story: Flynzo’s Version

East High School is the perfect setting for the relationship of your dreams. From leaky ceilings to daily fire alarms, what more could a bud

Comments


bottom of page