top of page
  • Dominique Dillard

Dr. Brown has only been our principal for a month, but it feels like forever. His positivity and laughter manage to brighten the school even in these challenging times. As we are nearing our second month with our new principal, I decided to learn more about Dr. Brown and his future plans for our school by asking him some questions!


What plans do you have for our school in the future?

I plan on continuing to build a culture where East is a place for kids and adults to feel like they belong.


What are your plans for the rest of the school year?

I want to ensure students have access to a normalized school experience. In relation to our juniors and seniors, that means having a whole host of traditional spring events.


What are some initiatives you are hoping to implement in our school (environmental, social, etc.)?

I hope to provide additional leadership opportunities for greater numbers of students and connect the school student community to the outside community.


What are some of your favorite electives offered at the school? Are there any new electives currently in the works?

My must-take courses are stocks and investments, public speaking, sociology, and a hands-on learning course like foods. We are hoping to run our Race & Ethnicity in America course-so relevant to our society right now.


What are you most looking forward to at EHS?

Having fun at least once every day! That usually involves interacting with students on some level.


Where do you see yourself and our school in 10 years?

That will depend on where the teachers and students want to take it, but in short, we will adapt and change with an ever-changing society. As for me, I’m retiring in 10 years!


Who will be your new Assistant Principal?

I was thinking of picking a different student each month to serve in that role. How cool would that be! Seriously, we will be hiring for that position, so it's TBD.


Why did you decide to be a principal?

Selfishly, I believe I can positively impact teachers' growth and development and, consequently, the growth and development of students.


If you weren’t an educator, what would you want to be?

I would own a small used car dealership that catered to the needs of clients and my side hustle would be flipping houses.


What do you enjoy doing outside of leading our school?

Spending time with my family -my wife and I have been married for 22 years, and we are planning for both kids to be out of the house within the next few years!


Could you tell us some fun facts about yourself?

I think I’m way funnier than I am.


What would you like to say to your new students?

Buckle up and hang on!


Well, I think Dr. Brown summed it up himself. Buckle up and get ready for a fun and amazing time with Dr. Brown as our principal!


Recent Posts

See All

Dr. Fagan Greystone Interview

At the start of January, the entire school was excited and saddened to hear that our wonderful principal would be leaving. As of March 1st,

East Theater Interview

The Norse Code spoke with Colin Barch of ETC about how the pandemic as affected the club this year.

InterAct Interview

The co-presidents of InterAct, Anushka Raina and Abby Criscuolo, share their thoughts about the club and its recent success with a community

Comments


bottom of page