top of page
  • Aroosh Ali

I had the opportunity to interview Mr. Guihan, a 9th and 10th-grade history teacher, who left at the end of January. Mr. Guihan has been teaching at East for several years, so it’s sad to see him go. Here’s a look at his background and what he plans to do after leaving.


What college did you go to?

For my undergrad degree, I went to Temple University and for my graduate degree I went to Widener University.


What did you do before teaching?

I was in the U.S. Army.


What made you want to go into teaching?

I loved the teaching aspect of Army life.


What was one of your favorite/most memorable moments here?

So many but the COVID drive-by graduation stands out. No one let COVID ruin the day.


Is there anything that you will/won’t miss?

I will miss my colleagues and the students.


What do you plan to do after leaving?

Take up photography. I also plan on traveling.


Why did you choose to become a history teacher?

I love learning about the past and making modern-day connections.


If you didn’t become a teacher, what career would you have chosen instead?

There was no other choice.


Did you prefer teaching online or in person?

In-person. I like interacting with people face-to-face.


How would you describe your teaching experience at East?

Amazing. We have a wonderful staff and excellent students.


Do you have any advice for other teachers or students?

Never lose your sense of wonder. Always try something new.


Recent Posts

See All

Teacher Profiles: Mrs. Genders

How has teaching virtually been so far? What have been some challenges? How did you overcome them? Teaching virtually has been quite...

Teacher Profiles: Mr. Niedziejko

How has teaching virtually been so far? What have been some challenges? How did you overcome them? I was ok with remote learning. I think...

Teacher Profile: Mr. Rupert

East High School as we knew it is no longer the same. From wearing masks to socially-distanced lunchroom setups, East is different in...

Comments


bottom of page