top of page
  • Richard Li

I love capitalism and the government. They’re literally my favorite topic. Ask me about anything on either of those subjects, and I will be able to crap out bricks of information. I’m also an award-winning DECAn. I practically live in the bank. So, in this paper, I will be explaining why I absolutely adore Dr. Seuss, not only for creating ingenious rhymes and raps that really challenge your knowledge on the world, but also for promoting capitalism to children. It starts when you’re young, and what better way to learn than through colorful anecdotes?


Let’s start with a pretty obvious book that promotes capitalism. Green Eggs and Ham? More like Greed Eggs and Scams. The entire plot is about this one guy, Sam-I-Am(Uncle Sam), who tried to get this stubborn old man to eat green eggs and ham, an unusual-colored food. While this could just be a clever way to get kids to try to eat new things and not judge a book by its cover - which are the fundamentals of discrimination - it’s actually about consumerism. Literally. Buy more, eat more. Truly and honestly, the message is clear and dear.


Okay, next up is How The Grinch Stole Christmas! I adore this book, and the multiple movies that have been made about it. The title pretty much explains the story. The Grinch, a green man(money), steals everybody’s Christmas presents for himself. Wow, fantastic moral lesson right there. Me, myself, and I? I relate to the Grinch. I, too, used to steal my sister’s presents the night before Christmas. In turn, my parents would have to buy her more presents. A win-win situation! Also, did you know that this book was about John Rockefeller and how he monopolized the oil industry? The Grinch perfectly encapsulates Rockefeller’s history, and it wasn’t until my 2nd read that I really understood that.


Now, this book was my holy grail. I read it every night until I turned 12 and gratefully received a different book for my birthday, which you’ll see later on this list… One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish is about the multiple pets you’ll go through in your life. While it can be heartbreaking to lose a pet, just know that capitalism always has a back-up pet ready for purchase. Not only that, but you can also harbor multiple animals in your home at a time! Through buying more companions in your life, you’ll feel true satisfaction.


Out of all the people in the world that currently exist, who loves to travel? Probably all of you. And the reason for that is because of Dr. Seuss’ incredible influence, which has spread to every demographic in the world. Oh, the Places You’ll Go! is a simple catalog book on all of the different areas of the world that one can take a quick trip to. Really, any location can be made into a good vacation spot. Think of how much joy the main character got out of his journey to the far corners of the world. You, too, can enjoy such wonderments at low, low prices every day. Life’s short, might as well see everything you can.


Remember how I said I got a new book on my birthday? This. This is it. If I Ran The Circus is the Dr. Seuss literary masterpiece that changed me for the best. Throughout this book, there are flawless tips on how to properly start and manage a business. Dr. Seuss tried to hide his profound knowledge through the shield of the circus, but it didn’t escape my entrepreneurial eyes. Just from the cover, I knew what I was about to read. Next year, I’m going to Harvard Business, and I'm ready to put everything I’ve learned to good use.



Okay, this book is a little more heavy than the other stories. I admit, I was a little confused due to the complexity of the characters and the plotline, but after reading it last night, I was finally able to compile all of my thoughts. So, the Lorax infamously spoke for the trees in The Lorax, and the Oncelor cut down trees in order to make this really inventive piece of clothing - a Thneed. There were many negative consequences that transpired due to the Oncelor’s actions, such as deforestation and deformed toxic waste and fish. Don’t get me wrong, these are absolutely horrific things. I don’t support these things whatsoever. However, the amount of money that the so-called bad guy made was able to restore everything back to its original form in the end. While the moneyman may cause problems, the moneyman can also solve them. This story sowed the very correct idea into people’s heads that money can fix anything. With enough cash, you can better the environment and create a greater world. What else is there to discuss? I’m with capitalism and capitalism is with me. I love the government.

Recent Posts

See All

Feet Suck

Every part of our body is necessary. Every part of our body is decent-looking. There's truly a minimal level of requirements to deeming a pi

Comentários

Não foi possível carregar comentários
Parece que houve um problema técnico. Tente reconectar ou atualizar a página.
bottom of page