top of page
  • Kylie McCormick

I watched 12 stop-motion animation holiday movies and ranked them.


Movie List:

  • Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964)

  • The Little Drummer Boy (1968)

  • Santa Claus Is Coming to Town (1970)

  • The Year Without a Santa Claus (1974)

  • The First Christmas: The Story of the First Christmas Snow (1975)

  • Rudolph's Shiny New Year (1976)

  • Nestor the Long-Eared Christmas Donkey (1977)

  • Jack Frost (1979)

  • Rudolph & Frosty's Christmas in July (1979)

  • Pinocchio’s Christmas (1980)

  • The Leprechaun's Christmas Gold (1981)

  • The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus (1985)


Criteria:

  • Animation

Does it look good? Does it flow together?

  • Music

Is it catchy? Can it stand on its own? Does it embody the holiday?

  • Originality

Are there other movies like it? Does it have an original plot? Is it overused?

  • Holiday Spirit

Does it put you in the holiday mood? Do you feel like you know the true meaning of your holiday?

  • Charm

Just if I liked it a lot



Chart For Easier Viewing:


My Thoughts. Take It As You Will.


The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus (1985)- Well, that was certainly a movie, if you could even call it that. For it being a Santa Claus origin story, there was a severe lack of Christmas spirit. The number of plot holes and inconsistencies could not fit in Santa’s sleigh. The animation wasn’t anything new and as claymations go, it's not the best out of them. There were some fun settings and the character designs were really cool to look at, but the music was just not good. I would listen to maybe two of the songs again, but even that is a stretch. They did not fit with the whole Christmas vibe, and the pacing was off. Either it was song after song or long stretches where you forgot that the music existed. At least it was original. According to this movie, Santa Claus was raised by a group of immortals in a magical forest and ventured out on his own to help children find happiness. It felt like someone wrote a Lord of the Rings x Santa Claus fanfic. The holiday spirit was barely there. Sure there was the sled and reindeer, but the context behind them was as invisible as the Agwas (watch the movie to get my reference). Charming can not be used to describe this movie. I just could not find myself to care about the characters and my immersion was constantly broken. If you are looking for a festive Christmas movie, this is not the one for you.


The Leprechaun's Christmas Gold (1981)- I enjoyed this movie a lot, although it was not really a traditional Christmas movie. I might be a tiny bit biased since I am Irish, but that’s beside the point. The animation was very smooth and flowed together nicely. There were a couple of repeat scenes, so not a perfect score. While the music was not very Christmassy, it was pretty catchy and I would definitely listen to it again. I have not heard or seen any other Christmas Leprechaun movies which gives it a full two snowflakes for originality. I loved the inclusion of a Banshee, which is a traditional Irish mythological creature. Although there were definitely some Christmas elements, there wasn’t much of a holly-jolly feel. This movie did not teach me the true meaning of Christmas, so it got a lower snowflake rating in the holiday spirit department. However, the charm radiates off this motion picture. I loved the characters, especially the Leprechauns' names, Blarney Killarney is my favorite. The entire atmosphere of the movie was fun and joyful. It somehow wormed its way into my heart. I would recommend watching this if you are in the mood for a quick, entertaining Christmas movie.


Pinocchio’s Christmas (1980)- This was definitely not my least favorite Pinocchio story. The animation was pretty fluid, not perfect, but close enough. Now the music is iffier. While there were some decent songs, they were overshadowed by all the other bad ones. A handful of the songs were just repeating the same word over and over again, so it isn’t even a real song at that point. There have been many Pinnochio-centered movies, so it is also not the most original. It’s still different enough from the other ones, though. When watching this movie, you, without a doubt, know it is a Christmas story. While it did not put me in a holiday mood per se, it did show me the true meaning of Christmas, even if the message was a little muddled along the way. Christmas is not about how much a present costs, but if it is given from the heart. Nice messages like this align with holiday values. I liked the different set designs and a couple of characters. It was not all that charming, but it had its moments. If you are a Pinocchio fan and are looking for a more unique Christmas movie, this is the one for you.


Rudolph & Frosty's Christmas in July (1979)- Though I remember watching this movie in the past, I was pleasantly surprised by how good rewatching it was. I got caught up in the story pretty quickly, and the animation was well done. The music had some fun catchy tunes along with classics that blend well together. Having traditional Christmas characters interact with a seaside circus was a delight to see. The spin put on Christmas in July was refreshing and rewarding if one got all the references. For a movie set in summer, it was plenty festive. With holiday songs, visuals, and lessons, it embodies the holiday. I thought it was plenty charming, with some characters standing out and becoming my new favs. It was a little long, but if you are looking for a lengthy holiday movie that has all of your typical Christmas individuals, go and watch this wonderfully whimsical film.


Jack Frost (1979)- I really enjoyed this movie and would recommend it. The animation was one of the best stop-motion I’ve seen. Everything was so fluid and graceful and there were very few repeat scenes. The music could be a little improved on, but it's not shabby. I thought it was very original, especially the main villain. I loved the plot and how Groundhog Day was intertwined. Now the holiday spirit is more tricky to rate because Jack Frost is for winter. As a winter movie, it nailed it but winter isn’t technically a holiday. The movie did feature Christmas and how presents don’t matter the most so it gets some credit. Overall, it was super charming. The cozy feel of the village, the family dynamics, and the Groundhog took it to the next level. You should definitely watch this movie for a fun sorta holiday-ish vibe.


Nestor the Long-Eared Christmas Donkey (1977)- This movie was short and sweet, not bad but could have done a bit more with the concept. The animation was cute and flowed pretty well. The donkey’s ears were basically their own entity which was amazing. There weren’t many songs and none of them had that wow factor I was looking for. In general, I liked the songs but there were no stand outs. It was definitely very original, I have never seen anything else about a Long-Eared Christmas donkey. I liked how it was a parallel to Rudolph and basically claimed that Nestor did it first. However, the movie didn’t make me feel warm and fuzzy. It had a nice message, just one that has been used too many times. There was some charm but nothing that blew me away. If you are looking for a nice short Christmas flick, I would chose this one.


Rudolph's Shiny New Year (1976)- I don’t know who came up with a New Year’s baby with big ears but it somehow works. The animation was pretty good and I love all of the character designs. The music is fun and funky fresh with sick beats. Holy moly is this movie original. Others can’t even touch it with a 39 and a half foot pole. The amount of just randomness going on is insane. WHY IS THERE A TIME WHALE AND BENJAMIN FRANKLIN I DON’T UNDERSTAND. Anyway, it also had some of that holly jolly feel so it had a fair amount of holiday spirit. I like that there is a movie for New Year’s, it’s a market severely underused. The charm rolls off it in spades and I can’t help but enjoy the heck out of it. Please go watch it if you have never seen it. What a wild ride it is something one has to experience once in a lifetime.


The First Christmas: The Story of the First Christmas Snow (1975)- Eh not my cup of tea. There are so many better options than whatever this was. Animation wise not awful but something about their eyes made me not want to have any. The music did not bring it. Severe lack of any good music really. No doubt it was original since I have not seen any other movies about a kid getting struck by lightning, getting blinded, and then getting unblinded because of snow (spoilers but anyone with common sense could see that ending). Def meh on the holiday spirit not getting any fun vibes. Barely any charm, not much else to say. Watch it if you aren't going to stop.


The Year Without a Santa Claus (1974)- It was the year without a Santa Claus and I couldn’t be happier. This movie is such a good movie. The animation is on point, especially with the Heat and Snow Miser sequences. Speaking of Heat and Snow Miser WHY DO THEY GO SO HARD LIKE WHAT. Their songs are what make the whole experience even more magical. Top-notch musical numbers all around. Fairly original too since who would have guessed Mother Nature could be in a Christmas movie. I know once Snat comes around in his sleigh that the true meaning of Christmas is known in my heart. The holiday spirit is so potent. Charming is not enough of a word to describe this astounding motion picture. I mean if you are not already convinced to watch this there is nothing more I can do. SERIOUSLY WATCH IT OR YOU WILL BE CURSED! Thanks for coming to my TED talk.


Santa Claus Is Coming to Town (1970)- Oh my golly goodness this movie is so good I love it so much everyone has to watch it or suffer the consequences. While there are improvements to be made to the animation the imperfections make it even better. Every song is such a toe-tapper and are all jams. Really if you have not seen this, put one foot in front of the other and sit yourself down to watch. I thought it was pretty original, not crazy like the others but still had fantastical ideas. I really liked how they incorporated all of the common Santa questions people have into his origin story. Of course, it had tons of holiday spirit and general holly. There were many references to general Christmas things that really put you in the mood. When a movie has the one and only Burgermeister Meisterburger how could you not be charmed? Did I say watch this movie enough times? I don’t think so. GO WATCH IT PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!


The Little Drummer Boy (1968)- The Little Drummer Boy is in such a mood. His whole personality is not liking people and like yeah understandable. The animation was a little choppy and definitely could have been refined. Music wise not bad but again there could be improvement. I thought it was pretty original and liked how it was an origin for a nativity person not in the spotlight often. Holiday spirit was lacking. It just did not make me all that excited for Christmas. There was some charm but again it didn’t give what it needed to. I would still say give it a watch just put it lower on your list.


Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964)- Well well well Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. One of the first stop-motion animation holiday movies. It is a personal favorite of many and for good reasons too. There is something so mystical and magical about a reindeer whose nose glows bright red. Though it was one of the firsts the animation stands against all of its descendants. The character designs are so iconic I love them all. Every song is a masterpiece and enhances the story tenfold. There really is no other fable like Rudolph out there like this one. An elf wanting to be a dentist, a miner who can taste silver and gold, and a reindeer whose nose is red. It is such an interesting and original movie. There is so much Christmas cheer and festiveness it really puts one in the holiday spirit. Of course, this film is charming. It charms your stockings right off. I love it with all my heart and you should too. If you can only watch one holiday movie, watch this one.





Recent Posts

See All

Movie Review: "Nomadland"

The best films remind you to appreciate your life, the people around you, and the possibilities that our world offers.

Holiday Debates

It’s my favorite time of the year! With winter break quickly approaching, I somehow found myself talking about the best holiday movies...

Σχόλια

Δεν ήταν δυνατή η φόρτωση των σχολίων
Φαίνεται πως υπήρξε τεχνικό πρόβλημα. Δοκιμάστε να επανασυνδεθείτε ή να ανανεώσετε τη σελίδα.
bottom of page