top of page
  • Taylor Quinn

Local author Madison Smith has debuted this past fall with

Storm is Coming, a collection of poems about her life. These poems cover some of her best memories, but also show her in the most vulnerable state. Self-published at 17, Smith is currently a senior at Villa Maria Academy. She published through Amazon and designed her book with the help of an artist friend and East alumni Sara Pappano! Writing, especially poetry, has been one of her lifelong passions. As a fellow writer, I have had the pleasure of getting to ask a few questions about her experience:


How did you make the choice to self-publish?


I decided to self-publish because getting my book published and accomplished was more important to me than making a profit.


Which poem in the anthology means the most to you?


For me, that poem is called “A Date Worse than Death” - it expresses my grief and sadness for my father divorcing my mom and cutting off all contact with us.


What struggles have you faced in your writing/publishing journey?


The struggles I have faced before have been people not always taking the genre of poetry seriously or recognizing the emotion behind the genre. Publishing was not so much a struggle because I decided to self-publish. I self-published through Amazon and worked with a family friend to design my cover art.


What is your favorite part of the writing process? Do you have any specific rituals/routines surrounding it?


My favorite part of the writing process is the escape it provides me with. Anytime I am struggling I play some music that correlates with the emotions I am feeling and I just write my heart out. It’s like writing in a diary, therapeutic.


Any advice for other young writers?


My advice for them is to not conform to what they perceive to be the “right” kind of writing. Write the way you want to and let others acclimate to your writing. Don’t search for fame or money but search to be seen.


Thanks to Madison Smith for happily answering these questions for the Norse Code!

Her book can be purchased here: Read Storm is Coming


Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page