top of page
  • Benjamin Gao and Daksh Shah

This year’s batch of freshmen are a multitalented class, with amazing musicians, scientists, and perhaps most relevant, politicians. Today, we will be interviewing the recently elected class president for the class of 2026, Naina Bhatia. I’m sure you’ve seen her posters in the hallway and now you can see what pearls of wisdom she can impart on us mere students of East High School.

1. What inspired you to run for president?

I’ve heard a lot about running and have seen posters in the class, but I honestly just thought that being able to organize events and fundraisers for my class sounds like a great opportunity!

2. What was the process of running like (ie. campaigning, posters, promoting yourself)?

When we received the papers for running, I made a list of things I could do. I created stickers with the slogan “Vote Naina 4 Prez” on them and handed them out. Before the election, I also handed out candy with those same stickers on them.

3. What values are important to you as a leader?

I want to take everyone’s opinions into account. For me, being a leader entails listening to everyone’s ideas and their wants. I want to make sure that my class feels and is heard.

4. What do you hope to achieve as class president?

Since class office mainly pertains to raising money, I want to be able to raise as much money as possible this year! I am hoping to be able to create monthly and yearly goals for our class to ensure that we can make as much as possible.

5. Are you a dog or cat person?

For a while, I was primarily a dog person and hated cats. Recently, I’ve actually started to LOVE cats!

6. Where is your dream vacation location?

Australia! I would love to visit its diverse terrain.

7. Favorite song?

Anything by Taylor Swift :)

8. Are you a Harry Styles fan?

I’ve heard a few of his songs, but not really.

9. If you had to shout out one special person in your life (i.e. friend, family member, famous figure), who would it be?

Definitely my mom! She is the greatest and has been my guide for pretty much everything.


Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page